Halloween Goodness

This is a post dedicated to the terrible cuteness of baby Juju and her mother’s dedication to making her a costume for baby’s first Halloween.  And this despite my not having a single crafty bone in my skeleton.  Motherhood really changes a person.  We went with a family theme this year.  B was a blonde Clark Kent, Juliet was Super J, and I went as a grayscale Lois Lane.  Why grayscale?  Because really, Lois is just a professional version of me, had I ambition, a job, and nice suits, and that’s kind of depressing.  So black and white Lois Lane it was.  (B: But if you make yourself up in black and white, will anyone be able to tell you’re in costume?–Hardy har har)  Unfortunately, I ended up looking more dead than retro, but B and Juju were quite handsome and adorable respectively.  2 out of 3 ain’t bad, right?

Image

Image

Image

It’s probably the scariest Halloween costume I’ve ever donned.

Image

They are the best.  Empirically.  I can prove it.

Image

A record of the five minutes we spent at the church Halloween outreach.  We went to prove we weren’t so lame that we couldn’t mingle with the townsfolk on one of the funnest holidays of the year, but it turns out we are that lame.  Just completely asocial.  It would be really sad if we didn’t find one another so endlessly fascinating.  We spent most of Halloween night parked outside of Starbucks discussing politics.  Such bliss.

Image

Look at her flexed feet!  I die.

Image

The obligatory outfit shot.  It was no sew because I…don’t do that sort of thing.  I followed these instructions, and ironed my way to success.  The sad things is, B was still surprised I managed to cut out proper shapes.  His look of utter amazement at the end result was one part gratifying and two parts offensive.  I might have gotten huffy except that I too was impressed, as I have never before managed to complete a craft project without gluing my fingers together.  Progress!

Image

Juliet’s pretty much all about the thug life.

Image

B’s face here cracks me up.  I love that he can be a complete goofball with our daughter.

Image

Welcome to my world.

Image

Super J to the rescue!

One thought on “Halloween Goodness

Leave a Reply

