Oh I Know All I Owe I Owe Iowa (I only wish I had more ‘State Fair’ references with which to delight and amaze you. It feels like such a missed opportunity.)

So finally, after two and a half long months of waiting and planning and hoping, B, Juju and I at last made our way to the great state of Iowa to hang out with my two righteous siblings-in-law.  Oh, and we got to squish meet their two-month-old baby boy, Emmett.  He’s my very first nephew, and he does not disappoint.  It was a great time of much sorely needed fellowship, plus I got to take in that newborn baby smell, which makes my ovaries hurt.  There was much conversating (“conversing” is such a dull word, don’t you think?), sugar-consuming, and all around laying about in Adam and Nic’s awesome old Victorian (I’m convinced she’s the Iowan Martha Stewart).  We loved every moment and wished very much to pack them all up and take them home with us.  Alas, Adam, the big lug, wouldn’t fit in our carry-ons, and out of Christian compassion we decided we’d allow Nic and Emmett to remain in Iowa and keep him company.  Pretty nice of us, eh?

ImageThe cousins meet for  the first time.  You’d think that on such a momentous occasion they could have summoned up a little more excitement.

On a side note: I wish I’d had my camera out when B and Adam first saw each other in the parking lot.  Aside from the fact that we found Adam accosting an obese lady shopper, thinking she was his brother (“I just figured, ‘Brian has really let himself go…'” were his words), Juliet was terribly confused by her father’s apparent duplication.  She looked between the twin boys for almost a minute with a look of intense confusion on her face and seemed ready to cry until we distracted her with our hunt for Nic and Emmett, whom Adam had left behind, apparently in order to terrorize any short-haired blond who happened to cross his path.  I’m not sure if Juju ever did figure out that Adam wasn’t some strange extension of her dad.  At any rate, she proved quite fond of him during our visit.

Image

Image

Juju in cupcake heaven.

Image

So.  Good.  You don’t even know.

Image

Playing peek-a-boo with Nic’s sister, Beth.  I don’t know if you can tell this about her, but Juliet loves attention.

Image

Image

High five!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Us with Nic’s lovely Von Trapp family brood of sisters.

Image

Our Cousins, or rather, (assuming B and Adam are in fact identical twins), Genetic Half-Siblings Photo Shoot.

ImageJuju does not yet distinguish between human beings and climbing apparatuses.  It is my dearest wish that she will indeed learn the difference someday.

Image

Concerning the patience of Emmett and the drama of Juliet: This pic about sums it up.

Image

Why, God?  Why?!  (Btw, can we talk about how blue Emmett’s eyes are?  Dang!)

ImageLike sunshine after rain.

ImageImage

I figure in a couple months he’ll have surpassed Juliet in size.

Image

Leave a Reply

