Jujupalooza

It seems I’ve gotten a bit behind in archiving my Juliet pictures and videos, and we can’t have that, can we?  I intend for her life to be creepily well documented.  I’m sure she’ll thank me someday.  So here’s a grab bag of Juju doing various things for various reasons, most of which are opaque even to me…

Image

She loves to feed her dad, but like many of Juliet’s favorite activities, it seems to be quite painful for the object of her attention.  (Btw, are violent outbursts normal at this age?  Because in the span of a few days, Juju managed to scratch my collarbone and my face until they bled and whack me across the nose with remote control so that I am sporting a most attractive bruise.  I’ve tried to be gentle and to show sadness when she hits and bites so that she can learn compassion, but it only seems to make her stronger.  Is this a phase?  And if so, will it end very, very soon?  Please?)

Image

Juliet hates the park swings.  Hates them.  I recorded a video hoping to get some footage of her laughing and having fun, like a normal child at the park, but instead she only screamed.  When she saw the video later, Juliet’s face crumpled and she started to cry as she watched herself emote on film.  B says this is evidence that she is not, indeed, a sociopath, but I told him I wasn’t sure Juliet empathizing with herself counts as pro-social behavior.

Image

Image

More zoo time.  Please ignore the mullet thing going on.  That situation has since been rectified.

Image

It’s funny–when you become a parent, outings are less about the things you see and more about your kid seeing the things you see.  Thus, I have many pictures of Juliet and relatively few pictures of zoo creatures.  But hey, here’s an elephant for the animal lovers out there.

Image

…and here’s another one.  Bonus points for spotting the urine stream.

Image

Back to our scheduled programming.

Image

This door is seemingly made for tiny people, but it takes the strength of Samson to open it.  I’m wondering if it’s some perverse challenge to my I mean, my child’s self-esteem.

Image

The e’er-present drool.  Looks good on her.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Bear.

Image

Image

We went to Garden of the Gods on Mother’s Day, and it was glorious.  We would have stayed longer, only Juju managed to soak through all her clothes and, being geniuses, B and I had not seen fit to bring another outfit for her.  Live and learn, I guess.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Not only is B pretty cute…

Image

…but he’s pretty much the world’s best dad.  Juju and I are super lucky.

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Jujupalooza

Leave a Reply

